Item Coversheet
June 11, 2019
Consent Agenda

Confirm the appointment of one new member and the reappointment of four existing members to the Public Health Advisory Council for three-year terms from July 2019 through June 2022 (SR 19-054; N. Thomsen)

Administration / Nicole Thomsen, Health Policy Analyst 
Prior Board Review:
Executive Committee, 5/22/2019 


In 2009 the Public Health Advisory Council (PHAC) was established by Resolution 09-20 of the Board of Health. The purpose of the PHAC is to convene community partners to provide periodic advice to the Health District and to the Board of Health and to make recommendations relevant to improving the health of the citizens of Snohomish County. Members are appointed to the Council for staggered three-year terms and serve without compensation. Members are appointed by the Chair of the Board and confirmed by the full Board of Health.


Seven community-sector terms expire at the end of June 2018. Four members are seeking reappointment, one sector has recommended a new member, and two sectors will be unfilled. Of these seven sectors, current members and proposed members are:


Community Sector

Current Member

Proposed Member


Sid Robert, Owner, The Roberts Group


Community Health Centers

Tové Skaftun, Chief Nursing Officer, Community Health Centers of Snohomish County



Amy Beth Cook, Superintendent, Lake Stevens School District


Environmental Advocacy




Korey MacKenzie, Retail Operations Manager, Diamond Knot Brewing



Tony Mace, Captain, Training Director, Paine Field Fire Department


Medical Professionals

Jiho Bryson, Consulting Medical Director, Occupational Medicine, The Everett Clinic

Midori Larrabee, MD, FACP, Chief Medical Officer, Hospitalist Medical Director, EvergreenHealth Monroe



Jiho Bryson, Consulting Medical Director, Occupational Medicine at The Everett Clinic, has represented the Medical Professionals sector on the PHAC since December 2012. Ms. Bryson is not seeing reappointment. Dr. Mark Beatty, Health Officer, recommends Midori Larrabee, MD, FACP, an Internal Medicine Hospitalist, Hospitalist Medical Director, and Chief Medical Officer at EvergreenHealth Monroe to fill sector membership. She has been with EvergreenHealth for three years, previously practicing at Overlake Hospital and serving as the Hospitalist Medical Director at Valley General Hospital. She completed medical school, internship, and residency at the University of Washington.


Chair Stephanie Wright recommends the appointment and reappointments of all listed members for a three-year term from July 2019 through June 2022.

Board Authority

Consistent with Resolutions 09-20 and 12-16, and approved recommendations in Staff Report #16-033, the Board of Health has authority to confirm PHAC membership.

Recommended Motion

MOVE TO confirm the appointment of Midori Larrabee as the Medical Professional sector representative and confirm the reappointment of Sid Roberts, Korey MacKenzie, Amy Beth Cook, and Tové Skaftun to the Public Health Advisory Council for three-year terms from July 2019 through June 2022.